Skip to content
October 11, 2011 / Kelly

One of My Top Ten Favorite Foods

Honeycrisp Apples


Why is this one of my top ten favorite foods?

 

A major appeal (pun not intentional, but I want to point out this punny-ness) of the honeycrisp apple is its window of availability. If you’re like me–you really, really, really want what you know you can’t have, then you should understand how this factors into my preference for this particular apple. 

 

But, for anyone (i.e. the sane), this apple is juicy as all get out and its taste is sweet with a bit of a tart-y undertone (to answer your question, no, I have no experience reading wine bottle labels), so you MUST try a honeycrisp apple. 


I’m taking the “apple a day” adage literally and am (limiting myself to) eating one each day. And I’ll be damned if I don’t feel better because of it!

 

RARITY + TASTE + HEALTHY = 

My love of honeycrisp apples.

Related articles

Do you have the BEST apple recipe EVER? Please share in the comment box! 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. James Kennedy / Oct 21 2011 7:51 pm

    I can’t say I’ve seen these apples in China before. We have Red Delicious varieties, which I often buy for lunch.

    Hawthorn (山楂) compôte is a wonderful comfort food. Put fruit and a little water into a 电饭包 and cook for an hour. Done! 稻香村 (a traditional Chinese store) also sells the stuff in large bottles. But It tastes even better when it’s home-made from an orchard where the owner lets you pick fruit for free 🙂

  2. professorgirl / Oct 12 2011 3:58 pm

    Like sweet corn! (in Ohio anyway)

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pasta Princess / Oct 12 2011 8:53 am

    I must agree with you – I love Honeycrisp Apples! It’s a shame they aren’t available all year, but then perhaps we wouldn’t enjoy them quite as much!

What do you think?

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Backstage Pass

My name is Matt Syverson, and I write rock-n-roll themed novels. I was in a grunge band in Seattle in the 90's. Now I live in Texas. Links to my books are at the bottom of the page. Thanks for visiting!

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Plinky

Because sometimes you need a push.

Edudemic

I am a college professor, so expect that much of the content will be related to higher education, teaching, and learning. But, not all; I'm going to post information, ideas, links that interest me. I hope that they interest you, whether you are also an educator and/or life-long learner, or not.

newyorkshitty.com

Greenpoint Dog Log Blog: One Woman's Crusade Against Dog Shit

